This week’s book haul

A bumper harvest this week, my birthday coinciding with publishers gearing up for Christmas is always bad for the bank balance!

Firstly, the autumn’s big hitters: Ali Smith and Margaret Atwood. I am pant-wettingly excited about ‘Autumn’, but to be honest I’ve never read any Margaret Atwood. (Actually, I did once start ‘Alias Grace’ but abandoned it after a couple of chapters). This Atwood is the latest in the ‘Hogarth Shakespeare’ series which sees authors re-write Shakespeare’s plays as novels, this time ‘The Tempest’. Isn’t it a glorious cover?

Then, just in time for Halloween, is Michelle Paver’s ‘Thin Air’. I loved her last ghost story – ‘Dark Matter’ – with its shades of MR James. And after the disappointment of Susan Hill’s latest ghostly offering, ‘The Travelling Bag’ (more on this soon), I hope this comes up trumps.

Douglas Coupland always entertains, so his huge collection of essays and stories should help while away the dark nights.

Finally, Elizabeth Taylor’s ‘The Blush’, a charity shop find and a collection of some of her short stories. I always pick up an Elizabeth Taylor whenever I find one in its original Virago cover. I loved ‘Angel’ and hope to find another to match it. (I understand ‘A View of the Harbour’ is particularly good.)

I was going to end by hoping that there aren’t many more essentials in the autumn publishers lists, but I noticed Alan Bennett’s new – and huge – collection of diaries and a gorgeous tome in which David Hockney talks about ‘A History of Pictures’. Oh well, almost Christmas…

 

This entry was posted in Alan Bennett, Ali Smith, David Hockney, Douglas Coupland, Elizabeth Taylor, Margaret Atwood, Michelle Paver, Susan Hill. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

